List of Igbo Clans In Niger Delta Nigeria

Here is the list of Igbo clans in Niger Delta area of Nigeria West Africa. The Igbo’s are mainly concentrated in the Eastern part of Nigeria, they together with Hausa and Yoruba form the largest tribes in Nigeria.

List of Igbo Clans In Niger Delta Nigeria

Igbos in Niger Delta

There are indigenous Igbo in Niger Delta is scattered in various parts of Niger Delta. What is now known as Niger Delta consist of Rivers, Bayelsa,  Delta, Akwa Ibom others are Cross River, Abia, Imo and Ondo.
However geographical Rivers, Delta and Bayelsa are considered the core States of Niger Delta not just because they produce oil but because of the location of those states.
1) Egbema -Rivers state/imo
2) Ecthe Rivers state
3) Omuma – Rivers state
4) Ndoni – Rivers state and Delta
5) Ikwerre- Rivers state
6) Ekpeye — Rivers state
7) Obigbo – Rivers state
8) Aniocha – Delta state
9) Ika – Delta state
10) Agbor- Delta state
11) Oshimili – Delta state
12) Igbanke/Igboakiri- Edo state
13) Ndokwa – Delta state
14) Opobo – Rivers state
15) Ukwuani— Delta state
16) Asaba — Delta state
 17) Ogba – Rivers state
18) Osekwenike, Abuetor and Eke Okpokri villages, all
in Sagbama area of Bayelsa, it is reported that there are Igbo of Ukwuani stock, and as such, are of the Anioma
igbo clan of the Igbo ethnic group in -Bayelsa.
20) (the Umuezekaoha people numbering over 300
villages), — Benue state
21) The indigenous Igbo-speaking communities in Kogi state especially in Ibaji and Igalamela/Odolu LGAs –
such as the Eke Avurugo community, such as Nwajala, Umuoye,
Ubulie-Umuez, Ozara, and Umuoye and many.
However, the Igbos are more prominent In Abia, Anambra, Ebonyi, Enugu, Imo, and major parts of Delta and Rivers states.
They can be found in small numbers like some LGA where they have a village or two in Akwa Ibom, Benue, Cross River, Edo, and Kogi.

One Reply to “List of Igbo Clans In Niger Delta Nigeria”

Leave a Reply